In this page
Scheme types
Default schemes
Non-default schemes
Create, edit, and delete schemes
Scheme list
Factory default schemes
Reset factory defaults
Configuring schemes
Scheme types
The Better Content Archiving app has the following scheme types:
- Content status schemes determine how content statuses should update.
- Notification schemes determine when notifications should be sent out to users.
- Automation schemes determine which contents should be archived or deleted.
All scheme types can be managed in a similar way, though they have their own specific settings as well.
To configure schemes in the Better Content Archiving app, you need Confluence administrator privileges. Each scheme has a name and a description, and they have additional configuration options specific to that particular scheme type.
Default schemes
The Better Content Archiving app has a concept called default scheme. For each scheme type, there is always exactly one scheme that is set as the default scheme.
The default scheme is just like any other scheme, except it can not be deleted, and if no scheme is applied to a space explicitly, the default scheme will be applied to it implicitly. Unless configured otherwise, all spaces use the default scheme implicitly by default. Newly created spaces also use the default scheme implicitly.
You can set any existing scheme as the default one.
Non-default schemes
Any scheme that is not set as the default scheme is called a non-default scheme.
Create, edit, and delete schemes
The Better Content Archiving app lets you define up to 10 different schemes of each type. For content status schemes, you can create a maximum of 20 different content statuses. For notification schemes, you can create a maximum of 20 different notification email templates.
Scheme list
Click a scheme type under Configuration to view its schemes. This list is similar for all scheme types. For content status schemes and notification schemes, you'll find content statuses and email templates under a separate tab there.
The scheme list has the following columns:
- Scheme name: the name and description of the scheme. Click the name to edit the scheme. This is also where you can see whether the scheme is the default one.
- Used in spaces: shows the number of spaces to which the scheme has been assigned explicitly. The label with this number is clickable and leads to the list of spaces that use the scheme. If the scheme is the default scheme, there is another clickable label that leads to the list of spaces that use the default scheme implicitly (see above for the difference between implicitly and explicitly assigning the default scheme to a space).
- Actions: Apply to spaces (explicitly assign the scheme to spaces - available in site scope only), Make default (if not the default already), Clone (create a copy), Delete (if not the default scheme and not used in any spaces).
Factory default schemes
The Better Content Archiving app comes with a set of factory default schemes (not to be confused with the concept of default schemes). These are schemes and accompanying content statuses and notification email templates designed to fit the most common scenarios. You can customize or delete factory default schemes just like any other.
This means that you are provided with a set of safe-to-use, carefully configured schemes right after installation. You don't have to do any configuration to start using the Better Content Archiving app. However, we recommend that you review these schemes thoroughly and customize them as needed to ensure that they fit your Confluence content management workflow.
For details on how to configure different scheme types, refer to the detailed manual page of that particular scheme type.
Reset factory defaults
You can always reset schemes to their factory default state. To do so, go to Confluence Settings (cog icon "⚙" in the top right) → Apps → Better Content Archiving → Configuration → (select the scheme type) → ... on the right above the scheme list, and click Reset schemes.
The reset operation erases all schemes that you created. Any customization you made to the factory default schemes, and also related configuration like content statuses and notification emails will be permanently deleted. (Your content status history and content events will be preserved.) There is no undo, so be careful!
Questions?
Ask us any time.